These are some, not all, of our reviews for the series. To read more, check out Amazon and Goodreads

Reviews from Book Blogs and other Authors

Reviews for Chaos

Overall, this is a book I didn’t know I needed – and I’m glad I picked it up! Just bought the sequel and will get started when I want another all-nighter.

 - Byrd Nash

YouTube Review

Reviews from Amazon and Goodreads

Math and magic. In this standalone novella based on the Chaos of Souls universe, we are introduced to an intelligent and fast-paced story that turns the notion of fallen angels on it's head.

With their city under siege by demons and vengeful angels, a small group of defenders use their wits, physical strength, and magic to hold them off. But their only real hope of survival is to find the path to the lost city of Raqui.

This is not what you call "light reading." It is an intense and visceral read with terrific characters and heartfelt moments, but you have to pay attention and try not to skim. It does take a bit to absorb who all the players and where they stand in this intricate universe, but it's worth it.

If you haven't read the novels set in this universe, be sure to read the comprehensive prologue as it sets up all the players.

M. Holly-Rosing VINE VOICE Math and Magic May 4, 2019

Unequivocable FIVE stars. I wasn't sure when I looked over the description of the first book (kind of vanilla), but the reviews suggested it was a good read. I have been blown away by the two books that have been released in this series. Very good story telling, writing and plenty of action. Your attention will not wander. Looking forward to book 3.

Stan Sicher Let me add to the praise of this book July 5, 2019

This is an ambitious story, but well done. I've read another book in this world by this author and enjoyed it. The world and character building reminds me a lot of Tolkein or GRR Martin, with vast house lines and feuds being mapped out and traced back. This is a creative take on angels and demons and good and evil, one that I hadn't read before I picked up the other book in the series. The book is eloquently written and puts you in the scene with the characters. The fight scenes are exciting and you can almost feel the slice of the blade because the author draws you into the scene.

I'm curious about the elder telling the story, but we must find out more about him later.

JB  great start to series  July 23, 2019

R.M. Garino has managed to develop an outstanding, well written fantasy with richly developed characters, plot and storytelling. Admittedly, I was lost in the beginning (Prologue and Chapter One), although the writing style coupled with the author’s prolific story telling expertise jumped this hurdle quite quickly and I found myself engaged in the story (sucked into it actually) all too quickly.

My rating for The Gates of Golorathis Five out of Five stars. Any fan of the Fantasy genre must add this book to their TBR list; they will be pleasantly surprised with the heart behind the story and relationship between Angus and Arielle. Frequent plot twists, epic battles and expertly developed character relationships will have you flipping through the pages and begging for more.

Lisa alleva Fantastic Story Telling June 24, 2019

Gates of Golorath is a well written book with complex characters driving a story that begins as a mystery before the birth of, Arielle and Angus, the protagonists. Arielle and Angus meet at an elite military training camp and are assigned to competing squads. They are drawn to each other while training to fight an enemy that has hunted and battled their families for centuries. Arielle and Angus are forced to find a balance while competing with their squads against the other squads and maintaining friendship with those who condemn the relationship. Ultimately, they need to prepare for the battle of their life.

Readers will find The Gates of Golorath, Chaos of Souls has the intrigue of Lord of the Rings; the military challenge of Games of Thrones; and the charm and magic of Harry Potter. The book does not end the story, but leaves the reader wanting to read the second book as soon as possible.

Bruce S. A well written book May 1, 2019

"Wow, what an amazing story, very intriguing, funny, with profound reflections regarding the characters spiritual aspects, a beautiful love story, adventure, this book has it all and exceeded by far my expectations.
Arielle is a trainee to being a Blademaster at the Gates and Angus is a Magi, training at the Gates inthe arts of the Blademasters. As they first meet, is becomes clear to everyone that they have a special bond in their soul level. Furthermore, the book narrates their personal development as their trainigs progress, add well as that of their relationship and the difficulties and oppositions they have to meet. The characters are very well persecuted, one has the impression to really get to know them, the plot is very well developed and engages the reader's attention from beginning to end. What also calls the attention is the great sense of humor the author displays in the story. I world absolutely recommended this book for fantasy fans." 

Kerstin Vollbrecht , Goodreads, It was amazing, January 10, 2018

"I won a copy of this book in a competition/giveaway last year but have only just got round to reading it. I regret waiting so long, as this is a great read, proven simply from the fact that I was unable to put it down and once finished I had the disappointing feeling that there was as of yet no sequel for me to carry on with. My only criticism would be that very early on in the book you are thrown a lot of terms and names that are hard to get your head around, thankfully the author has realised this and helpfully included a dictionary in the back pages. If you reference these words once or twice you soon learn their meaning and are able to fully enjoy the amazing world that the author describes. Excellent characters, great story telling and a compelling narrative that makes you want to keep reading no matter what. Can’t wait for part 2 to arrive."

Joe Brown, Goodreads, March 2, 2018

*I received a copy of this book for my honest review.

This is a newer fantasy novel about a race of fallen angels, who train to protect the Gates. The Gates of Golorath separate their world from the human world, and it’s their job to make sure demons do not make it through. This story focuses on Arielle and Angus, two “younger” angels going through the military training. Both have interesting backgrounds and family ties that impact their experiences, but what really changes them is their pull toward each other.

This is an epic fantasy that was pretty intimidating to start, to be honest. There are a lot of new terms and names that seem confusing at first. However, the more I read, the more it made sense, and the more I loved it. It’s full of action and emotion, plus a little humor and romance. It’s a coming of age story unlike anything I have ever read before.

Garino has created an incredible world with magic and demon fighting. The descriptions give a fantastic visual without being over the top. In my opinion, he found just the right balance between the descriptions, storytelling, and dialogue. I loved the characters as well, and their interactions with each other. There are deep family lines, some of which do not get along. It leads to drama and sarcastic responses that had me laughing. This story really shows that some bonds are stronger than family, and that family doesn’t always mean blood.
Find the book here!

I really enjoyed this book. I am very new to the epic fantasy genre, as many of you know, but once I got into the story it didn’t feel that different than my usual preference of books. It just had a bit more detail and length. If you like fantasy, I’d definitely give this a go. It’s very intriguing and I cannot wait for the next book!
Caitlyn H., If you like fantasy, I'd definitely give this a go, Amazon U.S., July 30, 2018

Where do I start!?! This book was fantastic through and through. Every time I had to put it down I couldn’t wait to pick it up again! The last series that held me with the same emotional attachment was the Harry Potter series. Though Gates also has adventure and magic, it is a very different yet equally wonderful world.

The story is a perfect blend of action, romance, humor, and heart. There are moments of sweetness, sadness, and suspense. The story unfolds in such a way that I felt I was there at the Gates experiencing it all! There is truly something for everyone in this book.

My only disappointment is that I can not pick up book two right now!!!

I am eagerly awaiting what is in store for Angus, Arielle, Thomlin, Gwen, Logan, and all the rest!!!

Candice G Benner, This book was fantastic through and through, Amazon U.S., February 26, 2018

Angels of Perdition is the second book in the Chaos of Souls series written by R. M. Garino. Following straight on from Gates of Golorath (You can read my review of that book here), Angels of Perdition lands us back at the Gates following the Menace trial that took place at the end of Gates of Golorath. New conflicts are arising and old ones are continuing to develop in new and interesting ways as Arielle and Angus are now under threat from the E'ine and their Soul Chamber.

The story is beautifully written containing a good mixture of fantastical elements, conflicts, and a little bit of sweet romance. A great combination for this genre of book. The narrative is intriguing and smooth, making it easy to follow despite the multiple elements and emerging storylines and character arcs that were included.

The Chaos of Souls series has an interesting setup as the main story is told as a campfire story 300 years after the events of the book. Interestingly, Garino would occasionally bring the reader out of this story and back to the "Present Day" as the Elder finishes his story for the night. With such a fast-paced and intriguing story, I felt the same eagerness the Extipana (a race of humans that the Elder was protecting) did for him to continue with the story, especially when the transitions were so effectively abrupt.

The characters are incredibly well-written in this book and Garino is good at making you feel a full range of emotions towards certain characters. I never thought I would be able to say that I actually feel sorry for Logan in this book and it's been rare that I have felt so much anguish for a character as I did for Arielle at the end of the book. A character introduced in this book, Pinar, was particularly interesting due to the ambiguity behind her motives. It was interesting to see where she went in this story. But let's not forget the amazing relationships between the main characters in this book. I loved the Pride and their relationships among each other. Although I still felt frustration towards them at times - because damn it, can ya'll just listen to people sometimes and not go rushing into everything? - they were always fun to read about. It was great that Garino still thought about the teenage/young adult conflicts that were to occur despite the larger story arc. The small petty arguments and interactions were always entertaining.

In terms of style, the book was eloquently written and full of intense, visual action sequences. It was very easy to imagine the action happening right in front of me and it was easy to get lost in the book (occasionally almost missing my stop to work!). The ending was surprisingly abrupt, which Garino explains in the author's note and it has now left me lusting for more. I'm excited for the third book!

The world that Garino has created with these books is absolutely fantastic. The history and lore that he has created and the inclusion of characters' sin'dels (their auras) are truly intriguing. I'm eager to learn more! I'm also keen to learn more about Reven Marthal, where the mages train and study. A building inside a huge tree is probably my perfect setting, now that I think about it. Garino has also done well to uphold the tension surrounding what exactly the Sur is and what it contains. As something that can taint people and drive them to madness, it's definitely not something you would want to find yourself trapped in. But that still hasn't curved my curiosity of the place.

Overall, I really enjoyed Angels of Perdition and there were many occasions when I struggled to stop reading it. It was fast-paced, exciting, and an incredibly satisfying read. A great book which I would definitely recommend.
Lindsay, Fantastic, Amazon U.K., December 23, 2018

I did receive this book in exchange for a review. I am not obligated to give it a good review. All opinions are my own.

If you like fantasy books then this one is definitely for you! This is the second book in a series and picks up right where the first book left off. I have to say, I love these characters. I felt like I was coming home when I started reading this book. I really loved how all of the characters developed throughout the book as well. Certain characters got more of a back story as well which cast them in a different light (still not a Logan fan though) and made me see them in a different way.

I'm a big fan of this series and I cannot wait to read the next one. I would highly recommend this book to anyone but especially if you're a fan of really great fantasy books!

Jill Pill, Wonderful Second Book, Amazon U.S., January 6, 2019

Garino has continued to build up this world and story in wonderful ways. It expands everything we know from the first book–giving us more about the characters and their traditions. The Gates of Galorath was a great start to a series, but this second book felt like where the true story started coming forth.

Everything is very well developed–the plot, the characters, the history of their people and world. I really enjoyed getting to know the different members of the Pride more. However, Arielle and Angus continue to be my favorite. They had me smiling and laughing at times, and then in near tears at others. Their constant banter, while still obviously loving each other, makes me so happy. I love it.

I’m very curious as to the part of the story that takes place in the future. There are chapters where it is 300 years later, and Angus is telling the story. He’s not with the others and has mentioned being betrayed by Arielle. So, I’m nervous about getting to that. I have a feeling this series is going to break my heart… more than this book already did.

If you like fantasy, I recommend this series. It is very well written, with beautiful descriptions and a new world to fall into. I very much enjoyed reading it and cannot wait to see how the story continues. 

Cait Marie, Functionally Fictional, January 21, 2019

We have a Newsletter! No spam, no way. Giveaways and author deals every month.
© 2017 - 2019 R.M. Garino  - All Rights Reserved.